Greatest Story Ever!

     You would not believe what happened to me last night. I wouldn’t normally post this kind of thing but it did have a little to do with cycling. It made me laugh so hard and has gotten quite a few laughs from the people I have told. Okay so let me start by giving a little background of myself so you know where this story takes place.

I am a custodian at Two Rivers School. Two Rivers is a community separate from any city and is kind of like the redneck area of Alaska. I live in North Pole, Alaska, yes that’s right I live in the North Pole. Anyways from where I live to where I work is about 30 miles; so once summer hit I decided to start biking to work and back. My shift at work is from 2 pm to 10 pm.

It was the end of my shift and about 10 minutes before I needed to clock out. At this time I usually change out of my normal work clothes and into my biking wear. I am in my office doing just that. I have pealed all my clothes off down to my compression shorts (cool name for tight underwear) and socks. I am about to put on my bib shorts when I think to myself well I had better put my heart rate monitor on first. For those of you that don’t know a heart rate monitor is a band that wraps around your chest and sits right under your pectorals. Also if you didn’t know you need to get the electrodes wet on a heart rate monitor so they can make a connection to your body. Well I have no sink in my office so since I figure it is just me in the school I will run down the hallway to the bathroom in my underwear and socks. I get to the bathroom and am wetting the band when realization hits me.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

  I am locked out!!!!! I had left my keys in my office and my phone and any other way to get help. I am now in my underwear, with my socks, and a very wet heart rate monitor. I check all the doors in the school to see if I had forgotten one, but being such a great worker they were all very securely locked. I had no access to a phone so I was stranded. I then knew what I had to do.

I started walking. I took off my socks as to not get them dirty and started walking in my underwear to find help. Luckily not even a half mile down the road on a turn off there sat my salvation. It was a mom and her son enjoying the sunset with their dog. You may be wondering “sunset? at 10?” well if you don’t know in the Alaskan summers the sun basically never sets it just gets low. I come up to them and I was yelling so they would know I was coming and not be startled. The son who was about 21 comes out and you can imagine what he thought when he saw me in my underwear.

I gave him the quick run down of what happen and asked for his phone. He gave it to me happily but because of some lock he had on his calling abilities I couldn’t reach any of the few numbers I had memorized. So I asked if they could maybe give me a ride and that they did. They took me to a teacher’s house, that works at my school, and with whom I am friends.

I then proceed to jump out of the truck and knock on the door. They of course find my story hilarious and can’t stop laughing. I am shivering in my underwear because it is like 40 degrees outside. After they get done laughing I get the husband who is the teacher to take me back to the school and unlock the door for me.

So that was how my night went and boy wasn’t that a whole load of fun. I thought you guys might like to hear about it even if it is at the expense of my pride.

What Are Your Thoughts?

